The Kern County Fire Department recently recognized the following employees at the 2014 Awards Ceremony:


Grant G. Young Excellence in Leadership
Firefighter Anthony Garcia for excellence in leadership with the KCFDs Explorer Program.

Medal of Merit
Engineer Matthew Imbelloni for leading fundraising efforts to help families of the nineteen Granite Mountain Hotshots who died battling the Yarnell Fire in Arizona.
Firefighter James Rocha for meritorious service to the KCFDs Interagency Hotshot Crew program and participation on the Yarnell Fire accident investigation team.

Lifesaving Medal
Engineer Daryl Buchanan for preventing an air tanker crash at the Fox Air Tanker Base.
Firefighter Paul Abarquez for rescuing a person through the wall of a burning structure in Tehachapi.
Matthew Morris and Reagan Poe for saving the life of a person trapped under a vehicle in Rosedale.

Fire Dispatcher of the Year
Fire Dispatcher II Tracey Halvorson for excellent performance in public safety dispatching.

Unit Citation
Engine Company 12 Captain Jason Nava, Engineer Leland Davis, Firefighter Paul Abarquez for actions that saved the life of a person trapped inside a burning structure in Tehachapi.

Letter of Commendation
Captain Derrick Davis for leadership in the KCFDs wildland fire division.
Captain Scott Van Ert, Engineer Samuel Adams, and Firefighter Bryant Stone for saving the life of an infant in cardiac arrest in Frazier Park.
Captain Mitchell Bonner and Fleet Superintendent Ronald Fox for their service and participation in the design, construction, and equipping of fire apparatus.

Text Size